Perhaps you’d been talking with someone for a while, and all of a sudden they just seemed to… disappear.
It could be that their stories stopped appearing, or you’ve just noticed they aren’t talking with you anymore.
This can lead you to wonder – did they delete their Snapchat account? How would you even know if someone did decide to permanently delete their account?
In this article, we’ll cover everything you need to know – and share several tactics that will help you tell whether or not someone deleted their account on Snapchat.
1. Search Their Name
The first, and perhaps the most obvious thing you should try out is to run a search for your name.
This should be done even if the person no longer appears on your friends list.
If a person doesn’t show up entirely, it means either one of two things. Either that person has deleted their account, or they’ve blocked you within the Snapchat app.
Unless you’ve given them a reason to, this is usually quite rare. Instead, most people will opt to simply unadd you, rather than blocking you entirely. This is what leads so many people to think they’re experiencing a glitch when the arrow or box turns gray whenever they send that person a Snap, despite believing they are still friends.
However, you should analyze your most recent interactions with that person to determine their possible motives behind either blocking you, or deleting their Snapchat account entirely.
Some people may just want to take a break from social media from a while, and believe that deleting their Snapchat account will help them avoid the temptation of returning.
2. Log In To A Second Account, And Search For Them
If you’re unsure whether or not somebody has blocked you or has deleted their Snapchat account, the best thing you could do would be to make a new Snapchat account, log in, and search for them on your new account.
This is because even if they’ve blocked your old account, they will not have blocked the new one they’ve just made.
So, when you run a search for their username, you’ll be able to see if they come up or not.
If they come up on your new account but not on your old one, this means that they’ve blocked you.
However, if they don’t come up when you search for them even on your new account, this likely means that their Snapchat account has been deleted.
Making a new Snapchat account only takes a few moments. However, you will need to unlink your phone number from your current Snapchat account, use a different email, and set your new account in a way where people don’t know it’s you.
For tips, see:
- Can You Have Two Snapchat Accounts On One Device?
- How To Find Out Who Made A Fake Snapchat Account – 4 Working Methods
3. Ask Them Directly
Finally, the last thing you should consider is simply asking them directly.
If you’ve had a good relationship with that person and you consider yourself friends, there is no harm in simply bringing it up.
Just mention that you noticed they weren’t on Snapchat anymore, and ask them if they’ve deleted their account. Then, they’ll be able to give you a proper answer as well as share the motivations behind their decision.
Most people use multiple social media websites these days, so you can always send them a message over Facebook or Instagram to inquire.
Of course, if you believe a person has blocked you and doesn’t want you to communicate with them in any way, you should certainly respect this decision and leave them alone.
What Does It Mean When Their Profile Shows Up, But The Snap Score Is Hidden?
If somebody’s Snap Score is hidden, this means that you aren’t friends on Snapchat.
Even if you have them added, they may not have you added in return, and both of these are required for their Snap Score to be visible.
This is why the Snapchat Score can be so useful in determining your status with another Snapchat user. While their profile will not show up at all if it’s been deleted, it can still show up if you two aren’t friends, and they haven’t blocked you.
If the Snap Score is visible, you two both have each other added. If it’s not visible, one of you doesn’t have the other person added.
It’s that simple.
How Is Unadding Different From Blocking?
Unadding someone on Snapchat vs blocking them differs in a few key ways.
If someone has blocked you, you will be unable to contact them in any way, shape or form on Snapchat, even if their settings allow non-friends to send them Snaps. Instead, you will simply never be presented the option to message them – their profile will be completely hidden from you.
If they’ve simply unadded you, you will still be able to send them new Snaps and messages. However, these will show a gray arrow or a gray box and be marked as ‘pending’ unless the person allows contact from non-friends.
Additionally, if you are not blocked you will still be able to send new friend requests to the person, in attempt to get them to add you again. Contacts who are blocked do not have this option.
It should be mentioned that blocking someone on Snapchat isn’t that common, and deleting one’s Snapchat account is even more rare – most people will simply delete somebody they no longer want to be friends with instead.
How To Tell Whether You’ve Been Deleted, Blocked, Or They’ve Deleted Their Account
To summarize, let’s briefly look over each option. This way, you can determine whether not the person has deleted their Snapchat account, they’ve simply deleted you as a friend, or they’ve blocked you.
- If the person does not show up in search at all, they’ve either blocked you, or deleted their account.
- If the person does not show up in search after you’ve signed into a new Snapchat account, they’ve deleted their account.
- If their account shows up and their Snap Score is still visible, then you two are still friends and have each other added.
- If their account shows up and their Snap Score is not visible, then they don’t have you added, or you don’t have them added. However, they have not blocked you.
The only thing this formula does not take into account is name changes. Therefore, you should review your Snapchat friends to see whether or not somebody simply changed their name or Bitmoji – it’s possible this is the reason they appear missing, even if you fear they may have deleted their Snapchat account.
If somebody has deleted their Snapchat account, their account will no longer be visible to you – or anyone else for that matter.
To check, log in with a new account and search for their name. This will ensure they haven’t simply blocked you, and you can verify that their account has indeed been deleted.
I hope that you’ve found this article helpful. If you have any other questions about Snapchat, please ask them using the comment form below.
Wishing you the best,
– James McAllister