Did your account recently get banned on TikTok?

As frustrating as this is, many people become even more frustrated when they find out their old profile is still up, and is listed within TikTok’s app.

To make matters even worse, because you’re banned, you can’t log in to delete it.

So, how do you delete a TikTok account that’s been banned or suspended? In this article, I’ll share a method with you that still works – and only takes a few minutes to carry out!

How To Delete A Banned TikTok Account

TikTok Logo

While doing research for this article, I found lots of people giving advice that simply doesn’t work.

For example, they’ll simply give instructions on how to delete a normal TikTok account – despite the fact that once you’re banned, it is no longer possible to delete your TikTok account by going through the settings menu.

In fact, if you’re permanently suspended, you can’t log in at all.

So, what do you do? It turns out, you have two options.

The first is to try and file an appeal for the ban, if the option to appeal is available. This is generally a good idea anyway, as it gives you a chance to get your account back with all of your data and followers in place.

It typically takes a few days to hear back if you file an appeal, so fill out the form early and be patient waiting for a response.

However, not all bans can be appealed. For example, if TikTok believes you broke their community guidelines in a very serious way – or you’re a repeat offender, they may remove the appeal option entirely.

So, what do you do in this case?

Unfortunately, your only option is to contact TikTok and request that your account and data be manually deleted.

According to TikTok’s privacy policy, you are allowed to request that all of your data be deleted by contacting them. TikTok also lists out some of the information that they collect, which explicitly includes your login information.

Therefore, to have your banned TikTok account fully deleted, follow these steps:

  1. Review TikTok’s privacy policy by clicking here.
  2. At the bottom of the page, you’ll be presented with options to contact TikTok. To make things easier, I recommend using the link to their online contact form, as this will be received instantly once your message is sent.
  3. Under the ’email address’ section, be sure to use the email address associated with your banned TikTok account. This is extremely important to ensure they are able to locate the account that has been banned.
  4. Add your username.
  5. Under ‘Topic’, select ‘Account ban/suspension.’
  6. Under ‘Tell us more’, select either ‘Banned account (age-related)’, or ‘Banned account (not age related)’ depending on which is applicable to you.
  7. In your message, clearly state that you would like your account fully deleted from TikTok in accordance with their Privacy Policy.
  8. Wait up to two weeks for a response. Note that messages are typically handled much more quickly, however.
  9. If no response is received and your account still isn’t deleted, contact them again. This time, select ‘General account inquiry’ as the topic, then ‘Banned account’ under the ‘Tell us more’ section.

Note that in some cases, TikTok may be unable to delete your account or data – for example, if under a court order.

Can You Delete The Account Directly Within The App?

No. Currently, once your TikTok account has been banned, you are no longer able to delete it directly within the TikTok app.

This is because the typical place you’d go to in order to delete your account is no longer accessible.

If you try to sign into a banned TikTok account, you’ll be presented with only two options – to request a copy of your TikTok data, or to appeal the ban. Note that not all bans have an appeal option, however.

If you are able to successfully appeal the ban, you’ll be able to log back in again and delete the account if you still wish to do so.

Otherwise, the only way to delete the account is to email TikTok and request that they delete it directly.

Will Deleting The TikTok Account Free Up The Username?

At this time, it doesn’t appear that having the TikTok account deleted will free up the username, if it’s not freed up already.

This is likely to prevent issues with impersonation, as well as people simply creating new accounts to circumvent bans.

We know that TikTok does free up usernames from time to time, particularly when accounts go inactive.

Therefore, it’s possible that usernames can be freed up in the future. However, just having the TikTok account removed does not necessarily mean you will be able to use the same username again when making a new account. Nor does it mean that somebody will be able to swoop in and take your old username.

Conclusion

Currently, there is no way to request deletion within the TikTok app itself. This is because banned accounts are unable to request deletion via the normal methods.

However, by sending an email to TikTok’s support – or appealing the ban if the option is available, you may be able to request that your TikTok account be deleted.

I hope that you’ve found this article to be helpful. If you have any other questions about banned accounts or getting your TikTok account deleted, please ask them using the comment form below.

Wishing you the bestl,

– James McAllister

About the author 

James McAllister

James is the owner of JamesMcAllisterOnline.com. He started his first blog at the age of 11, and has since gone on to start several successful businesses. In total, these businesses have sold hundreds of thousands of units and have touched millions of lives. Here on JamesMcAllisterOnline.com, he shares his knowledge that brought him to where he is today. If you want to connect with James, follow him on your favorite social networks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

CommentLuv badge
{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Join The VIP Club!

Sign up for the VIP Club and immediately gain access to...


  • 500+ business, marketing, and personal development lessons.
  • A private community forum / support group.
  • My entire library of courses, templates, cheat sheets and swipe files.
  • Many other bonuses!
Send this to a friend