Picture this – you’ve left a comment on someone’s TikTok video, only to immediately realize that it was a mistake.
Perhaps you said the wrong thing, or you simply don’t want the account owner to see it. So, in a panic, you delete the comment.
But will the TikTok creator still be able to see what you wrote? Will they receive a notification even if you delete the comment, and what can be done to stop them from seeing it?
In this article, we’ll cover everything that you need to know!
Does TikTok Still Send A Notification, Even If You Delete The Comment?
Yes. Once you leave a comment, a notification will be sent to the TikTok creator, which will remain even if the original comment is deleted.
However, before you panic, there are some thing that you can do.
In fact, it’s possible that if your comment was long, that the TikTok creator won’t even be able to read the full thing. Rather, the comment will be cut off after the first sentence or two.
Therefore, you may not have anything to worry about.
However, shorter comments can still pose a problem. Additionally, you may have written what you don’t want them to see early on in the comment. So, let’s delve into this a bit deeper.
Note: If you delete the comment before they see the notification, the notification may be deleted from the notification section of the TikTok account, which is where the text is displayed. However, the push notification will remain on their phone.
The push notification doesn’t contain any of the original comment – it only states that you commented, but does not show any of what you wrote.
What Happens When They Click On The Notification?
Normally, when a video creator clicks on a comment notification, their TikTok video opens up and they are taken directly to the comment that they were notified for.
When the comment was deleted, the process is a little bit different.
TikTok creators unable to continue viewing any comments that have been deleted from their videos. These comments are not recoverable, and nobody (except for maybe TikTok themselves) will be able to view them.
Therefore, when a creator taps on a deleted comment notification, their video is still opened up, as is the comments section.
However, your comment will be nowhere to be found. Instead, they will see all of the other comments left on their video, but not yours.
We’ve heard of people claiming the notification must have been a glitch when confronted about it. Since your comment will be completely missing when they open it, this is a believable excuse.
What Can Be Done Once The Notification Is Sent?
Unfortunately once the notification has been sent out, there isn’t a whole lot that you can do.
Remember that it only takes a few seconds for the person to see the the notification and open it, particularly if they’re using their phone while the comment is posted. And unfortunately, nothing can be done to erase the comment from their memory. We don’t have that kind of technology yet!
However, if the person is sleeping or won’t see the notification for a while, there are a few (drastic) steps you can take.
- Blocking the person. (Click here to learn how to block them without them knowing.)
- Deleting your TikTok account.
Both of these are less than ideal, right?
Fortunately, it really does not need to come to this.
As long as you delete your comment before they read it, they will only be able to see that you left a comment. They will not be able to see what the comment contained.
Therefore, it’s not really worth deleting your TikTok account over! All it really proves is that you watched their video. They won’t be able to see which video, or know what you wrote.
Fortunately, you don’t have a lot to worry about if you delete your TikTok comment quick enough.
Although the video creator will be able to see that you left a comment, they will not be able to see what you actually wrote.
So, delete your comment as quickly as possible, and you won’t have any problems!
I hope that you’ve found this article helpful. If there are any other questions about TikTok that I can answer for you, please feel free to ask them using the comment form below.
Wishing you the best,
– James McAllister