Whether you believe someone may have unsent a message they’ve sent you on Instagram or you’re planning on unsending one of your own, you may find yourself wondering – will Instagram notify when a message has been unsent?
This is an excellent question, and Instagram’s system for this has actually changed from years past.
In this article, we’ll give you up-to-date information sharing everything that you need to know!
Does Instagram Send A Notification When You Unsend A Message?
No. Instagram does not send any sort of notification when a message has been unsent.
In fact, there will be no indication that a message was ever sent in the first place. This means that it’s possible to unsend a message without the recepient ever realizing that you even sent a message in the first place.
So, you can feel comfortable knowing that they are unlikely to ask about it, even if the message is deleted.
Of course, if you want to make sure that you are able to read any messages that are sent to you before they’re unsent, the best thing you can do is to have the app open while talking to the person you’re having a conversation with.
Because unsending a message takes a few seconds, this should give you ample time to read any messages that are sent to you.
Instagram Used To Notify, However
In the past, Instagram would indeed leave a message notifying users that a message was unsent.
The message would read “This message has been unsent by the sender” and would be visible upon opening the message. To make matters worse, if it was someone who was DMing you for the first time, you wouldn’t even be able to figure out who it was that sent it!
Instagram no longer sends this notification however. The message will simply be removed, as if it were never sent in the first place.
Does Instagram Notify When You Unsend A Group Message?
No. Instagram does not send any notification when a group message is unsent, nor is there any message left indicating that it happened.
Group messages behave just like direct messages to other individuals. While people will be able to read the message before its unsent, there will be no indication that the message ever existed once its unsent.
However, within groups there is an increased likelihood that someone saw the message before it was unsent. They may end up telling the others what was written if they managed to see it before it was deleted.
So, you’ve got to be even quicker when messaging in a group!
Is There Any Way To Read Unsent Instagram Messages?
Let’s say someone sent you a message, but unsent it before it could be read. Is there anyway to read a message that has been unsent on Instagram?
Usually, the answer is no. There is no way to retrieve messages that have been unsent, and unless you read them before they are deleted it is often impossible to find out the contents of the message.
However, if you were sent a notification for the message, it still may be available to read (in whole or in part) through the notification itself.
Even if Instagram recalls the notification, there are apps available for Android that let you save all notifications that come in. A few examples include ‘Notification Log’ and ‘Notification History – Recover Deleted Messages.’
Essentially, these will save a copy of all notifications that come in, and can be set up to only save notifications from certain apps. Even if a notification is later deleted, you will still be able to review it using one of these applications.
So, if you are talking with someone that regularly unsends messages on Instagram, it may be worth installing one of these apps so you can still view them later.
Note That Instagram Still Keeps A Copy
You should keep in mind that even if the messages are unsent and are no longer visible to both you and the recipient, Instagram will still keep a permanent copy that they’re able to review.
This is likely for security and safety reasons, and to ensure that users are complying with Instagram’s rules.
So, you should be mindful of what you say, and never write anything that you wouldn’t want an Instagram staff member to read.
Although the message may still be gone, it is still tied permanently to your account even if it is no longer visible.
Thankfully, Instagram no longer sends any notification when you unsend a message.
This means it’s possible to unsend an Instagram message without anyone ever realizing that you sent it.
However, Instagram will still keep a copy in case the conversation is reported – though it won’t be visible to anyone in the conversation.
I hope that you’ve found this article helpful. If you have any other questions about Instagram, please ask them using the comment form below.
Wishing you the best,
– James McAllister