IMVU has been around for over 15 years now, and is an extremely popular platform for meeting new people.
However, there comes a time when you may wish to say goodbye to IMVU, and permanently delete your account.
Thankfully, IMVU has made it easy to close your account, and permanently delete it from their service.
In this article, we’ll cover everything that you need to know!
How To Delete Your IMVU Account
To completely delete your IMVU account, follow these steps:
- Visit IMVU’s Account Deletion page.
- Log into your account, if you aren’t already logged in.
- Enter your password in the box, after reading the information on the page.
- Click on the ‘Continue’ button.
- Wait for the page to load with a confirmation.
Note that after requesting account deletion, IMVU will move your account into a deactivated state. This means it hasn’t yet been fully removed.
Instead, IMVU will wait to see if you change your mind, and wish to reinstate your account. Instructions to reinstate your account will be present on the confirmation page.
After an unspecified period of time has passed, your account will be fully deleted (as long as you haven’t requested it be reactivated.)
Unfortunately, there doesn’t seem to be anything you can do to permanently delete it straight away. According to IMVU’s documentation, this may be to protect people in case of accidental deletions, or unauthorized deletions. For example, if somebody were to gain access to your account and delete it themselves, even if you didn’t want them to.
However, privacy concerns can be sent to [email protected]
Why You Might Want To Delete Your IMVU Account
Although IMVU is a wonderful platform to chat and meet new people, there are several legitimate reasons why you may wish to permanently delete your account.
While we all have our own reasons, some of the most common are listed below.
1. You No Longer Use IMVU
This is the big one.
If you know that you’re quitting IMVU forever or you’ve simply realized that you no longer use it that much, you may wish to permanently delete your IMVU account. After all, if it’s no longer being used then there’s little point in leaving it open.
Of course, if you decide that you wish to return to IMVU one day, it would be safest to keep your account open. Deleting your account removes all of your in-game items, your contacts, and everything else that you’ve done on your account.
However, if you’re absolutely certain you won’t be coming back, deleting your account by following the steps above is a great idea.
2. A Partner Requested You Delete It
Whether like to admit it or not, IMVU is a common place to meet new people and even form new relationships. I have heard plenty of stories of people meeting in IMVU, and having their relationship cross over to real life.
Or, it could be that your partner (that’s already with you in the real world) saw that you were using IMVU, and wants you to delete it. Considering the type of stuff that goes on within IMVU sometimes, it makes sense.
IMVU has been around for a very long time, and it had a reputation for being a virtual dating platform even 15 years ago.
So, if you are in a committed relationship, it may make your partner uncomfortable if you are still talking with people on it.
In these instances, it may be better to simply delete it from your devices rather than deleting your account permanently – unless you’re absolutely sure you won’t be single again. Even if you don’t use IMVU for dating or roleplay scenarios, it would be unfortunate if you had to start over from scratch if you returned to the platform one day!
3. You’re Tired Of IMVU’s Marketing Messages
If you’ve been getting too many marketing emails from IMVU, you may find yourself wanting to delete your account.
But did you know that it’s possible to unsubscribe from marketing messages, without having to delete your account?
At the bottom of each email, you’ll find an unsubscribe link. Simply click on it, and you’ll be removed from their mailing list – while still keeping your account open.
4. You’re Concerned About Data
Finally, you may wish to delete your IMVU account if you’re worried about the amount of data that the company has collected about you.
Because IMVU such a large and immersive platform, the company has a lot of opportunities to collect data about you.
So, if this is concerning to you, you may find yourself wishing to delete your IMVU account.
How To Delete Your IMVU Data
Even after you’ve put in a request to delete your account, IMVU may still hold on to data related to your account. This may be true even after the account has permanently deleted.
Unfortunately, it appears that requesting data deletion may only be available to residents of the European Union and California, who are protected by GDPR and CCPA respectively.
If you want to exercise your rights regarding your data or you have any questions about IMVU’s privacy policies, you can contact them by sending an email to [email protected].
As you can see, deleting your IMVU account can be done in only a few steps.
However, there will be a period of time where the decision is reversible, meaning your account won’t be fully deleted straight away. Additionally, it’s unclear how much data IMVU retains even after you request to delete your account.
I hope that you’ve found this article helpful. If you have any other questions about IMVU, please ask them using the comment form below.
Wishing you the best,
– James McAllister