Did someone send you a photo on iMessage, and you want to know if you can save it without them knowing?
If so, it may be helpful to know whether or not their phone will receive any sort of notification after you’ve sent it.
In this article, I’ll be covering exactly what happens, what to do if you’re worried, and more!
Does iMessage Send A Notification When You Save A Photo?
No, iMessage does not send any notifications when you’ve saved a photo. This means that there will be no way for them to know that you’ve saved the photo that they’ve sent you, unless they are able to gain physical access to your phone, or you tell them.
While it was rumored in the past that this feature was going to be coming to iOS, several new versions of iOS have come out and the feature still has not been implemented.
So, it’s unlikely that Apple will implement any sort of notification for saved photos anytime soon.
If you think about it, sending a notification when you save a photo may be considered a breach of privacy, while also being annoying for the person receiving the extra notifications.
Therefore, it makes sense that Apple has chosen not to include this sort of function within iMessage.
What To Do If You’re Paranoid
Of course, if you’re paranoid, there are always other options available to you!
For example, you can bypass the ‘Save’ function entirely by simply opening up the photo, and taking a screenshot once it appears on your screen.
While this won’t be as high resolution as actually saving it, it does get the photo into your camera roll without actually pressing the save button at all.
Additionally, if it’s a video that you want to save, you always have the option to screen record as well, which will allow you to save the video this way.
Again, this really isn’t necessary at this point in time, but if you’re still worried about it, these are great alternatives.
Is It Morally Okay To Save Photos Sent To You On iMessage?
We now know that it’s impossible for somebody to know that you’ve saved their iMessage photo, unless they either go through your phone, or you tell them.
This brings up another question however – is it morally right to save the photo that they’ve sent you?
Most people would agree that it is, unless they specifically ask you not to. Here’s why:
When you send a photo or video on iMessage, the sender is already well aware that the photo can be saved. They also know that even if you didn’t explicitly decide to save the photo, you could always return to the message thread and view the photo that way.
So, the photo is sent with the expectation that you’ll be able to access it forever.
If the sender didn’t want you to be able to keep the photo, logically they would choose to send it over a service like Snapchat instead, where the photos will automatically be removed forever after receiving them.
While saving a Snapchat photo against one’s wishes is certainly immoral, saving a photo sent over iMessage is not.
So, there isn’t anything wrong with it – again, as long as the photo was sent to you intentionally, and the sender didn’t directly ask you not to save it.
Currently, there is no way for someone to know that you’ve saved the photo they’ve sent you on iMessage. iMessage does not send any sort of notification, so they cannot find out unless you tell them.
Of course, if you’re paranoid, you can always take a screenshot or screen recording instead.
I hope that this article has answered all of your questions. If you have any other questions about iMessage, ask them below and I’ll be happy to help.
Wishing you the best,
– James McAllister