Did you recently block someone on TikTok, and want to know if they’ll be able to know that you viewed their profile?
Or, perhaps you viewed their profile by mistake, and you’re considering blocking them so they won’t find out.
Regardless of the reason, this is an excellent question. So, if you block someone, will you still show up in their list of profile viewers? In this article, I’ll be sharing the answer, along with some tips to make sure they never found out that you viewed their profile.
Let’s get started!
If You Block Someone, Can They See That You Viewed Their TikTok Profile?
Thankfully, the answer is no.
Once you’ve blocked someone on TikTok, you will no longer show up on their list of profile viewers. Even if they were to go and check the list, your profile would not show up.
This is because when you block them, it essentially hides your entire account, and prevents them from seeing your page at all.
I’ll talk more about what information they can still access a little later, but I’m happy to report that you won’t show up as a potential profile viewer.
And even if you were on the list previously, you will disappear from that list as soon as you’ve successfully blocked them!
Tip: Block Them Fast After Viewing!
Unfortunately, there is one situation where they may still be able to find out that you’ve viewed their profile.
Once you tap on someone’s profile and open it up, you will immediately show up in the viewers list. This means that if they were to check their profile viewers after you clicked on their profile (but before you blocked them), then you will still show up.
Even if you block them after they open it, the list won’t update until they exit out and reopen the list again.
So, in order to prevent them from finding out that you viewed their profile, it’s very important that you block them as quickly as possible.
For reference, you can block someone on TikTok by tapping on the arrow in the top-right corner of their profile, and then tapping ‘Block’ on the menu that pops up.
A confirmation window will appear, so simply confirm your desire to block them, and they will be immediately blocked.
The entire process only takes a few seconds if you’re quick about it! Of course, if you want to look through their profile one last time, consider doing it late at night when they’re unlikely to be online.
Consider Turning Off Profile Views In TikTok Settings
Did you know that unless you have a specific setting turned on, TikTok will not tell other people when you view their profile?
In fact, the profile viewing feature has to be enabled for both people in order for it to work. This means that you have to turn on the ability to see who views your profile, and they also have to turn on the ability to see who viewed their profile.
If either one of you have it off, you won’t show up in each other’s viewers list.
So, if you never want people to know that you viewed your profile, consider simply turning the feature off!
This can be done by following these steps:
- Open the TikTok app and visit your profile.
- Tap on the icon with three horizontal lines in the top-right corner.
- Tap on ‘Settings and privacy.’
- Tap on ‘Profile views.’
- Toggle ‘Profile view history’ off.
Once it’s turned off, you will no longer show up on other people’s profile viewers list. However, you will still show up if you viewed people’s profiles before turning this feature off.
Will They Know That You Blocked Them? What Info Actually Remains?
Now, onto the final question – will they know that you’ve blocked them? How can they find out?
Fortunately, TikTok does not send any notification when you block someone, so it can be difficult for them to realize that they’ve been blocked.
When you block them, your comments and likes on their videos will disappear, and you will also disappear from their followers / following list if you were there previously.
The only thing that remains is DMs. However, the other person will no longer be able to view your profile, they will not be able to send messages to you, and your page will not show up in search if they search for your TikTok handle directly.
So, it’s technically possible for them to realize they’ve been blocked – especially if they use an alt account and find your profile. However, it’s unlikely unless they specifically go looking for you.
If you block someone after viewing their profile on TikTok, you will not show up on their viewers list.
However, they can still see you if they view the list before you block them. Therefore, block them as quickly as possible after viewing their profile to prevent this from happening.
Of course, a better long-terms solution would simply be to turn your profile view history off, as this prevents you from showing up in other people’s lists as well.
I hope that this article has put your mind at ease. If you have any other questions about TikTok, ask them below and I’ll be happy to help.
Wishing you the best,
– James McAllister